I have been selected as the 2014 Apprentice Composer-in-Residence for the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group through Sound and Music's Embedded scheme.

I am writing about my appointment on the BCMG Blog.

Furthermore, I have received a fellowship for the 2014 session of the Tanglewood Contemporary Music Center.
I have been accepted onto the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s Leverhulme Young Composers’ Programme. I will be writing a chamber orchestra piece for the LPO's Debut Sounds concert on 9 June 2014 conducted by Clement Power and will be mentored by Julian Anderson.

The concert will also feature works by Patrick Brennan, Eugene Birman and Edmund Hunt.
Plays to See and Alex Sierz reviewed my chamber opera The Viagron.

'...Gieshoff’s score is superlative; a taut orchestral construction of pitches and yaws swirls around voices beautifully singing about the decay of man. It is haunting, evocative, and well constructed, managing to fit a vast swathe of material into an hour without ever failing to convey change and movement between sections.' - Ben Millson on www.playstosee.com (****)

'...Viagron is a viscerally intense and thought-provoking pleasure. Gieshoff’s score scratches, pants and swirls its way through the emotions of the text — great stuff.' - Alex Sierz on www.blogspot.piratedog.com

Click to read the full review on www.playstosee.com and www.blogspot.piratedog.com.
My orchestral piece Stanza as well as an interview with me will be featured as part of BR - KLASSIK's new music programme Horizonte on 2 September, 22.05.

The programme will also include music and interviews by Mayako Kubo, Andile Khumalo and Stefan Pohlit. Presented by Kristin Amme the show features German composers living abroad. 
I was a guest on resonanceFM's LSO Soundhub Show on 9 July 2013 hosted by fellow composer Darren Bloom. The discussion amongst composer Toby Young, director Matthew Monaghan, Darren and myself focused on topics relating to contemporary opera.

You can listen to the full broadcast using the soundcloud player below; alternatively, follow THIS LINK.
The BBC SSO and Richard Baker's performance of my orchestral piece Stanza will be available on BBC iPlayer till 13 July 2013.

To listen to the BBC Radio 3 - Hear and Now broadcast presented by Ivan Hewett, click HERE.
I am proud to announce that the Royal College of Music has awarded me with the Adrian Cruft Prize for Composition as well as the Elgar Memorial Prize. I am very happy to receive the latter for the second time.
My orchestral piece STANZA - performed by the BBC SSO and conductor Richard Baker - will be broadcast as part of BBC Radio 3's Hear and Now series on Saturday, 6 July 2013, 22.30.

Presented by Ivan Hewett the programme will also feature works by Stuart MacRae, Alasdair Nicolson and Andrew Simpson.

Click here for more information.
I am very happy to announce that I have received an Ralph Vaughan WIlliams Trust Postgradute Award. The monetary award will support my studies at the Royal College of Music in 2013/14.

In addition, I have been awarded an ABRSM Scholarship covering my tuition fees at the RCM.
The Scotsman, The Herald Scotland and The Guardian reviewed Stanza performed by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra under Richard Baker. The concert also featured works by Alasdair Nicolson, Andrew Simpson and Stuart MacRae.

'It started extremely well. Arne Gieshoff's Stanza, an iridescent cocktail of hi-definition cartoonesque textures in which every single note counts, was an impressive follow-up to its premiere at last year's St Magnus Festival.' - The Scotsman

'(...) Stanza, a short work which nevertheless managed to cram plenty of excitement and impact into its five-minute duration.'  - The Herald Scotland

'The evening opened with a fun five-minute piece, Stanza, by Arne Gieshoff: busy and brittle, hung together on punchy energy and fleeting undertones.'  - The Guardian

Click to read to full review in The Herald and in The Guardian.



    9 June 2014, 19.30

    New Work for chamber orchestra

    London Philharmonic Orchestra; Cond. Clement Power

    London Philharmonic Orchestra’s Leverhulme Young Composers’ Programme

    Debut Sounds / Queen Elizabeth Hall

    21 May 2014

    Wucherung for oboe solo

    Riot Ensemble

    Rebecca Cass - oboe

    Divinity School Recital Hall, St John's College, Cambridge

    20 May 2014, 19.30

    Wucherung for oboe solo

    Riot Ensemble

    Rebecca Cass - oboe

    The Forge, London

    19 March 2014, 19.30

    Oenothea's Dream for ensemble

    RCM Masters Ensemble

    Parry Rooms, RCM

    28 January 2014, 10.30/14.00

    verdreht for Trombone, Melodica and Scordatura Melodica

    Birmingham Contemporary Music Group (Schools' Concert)

    CBSO Centre, Birmingham

    26 January 2014, 11.30/14.00

    verdreht for Trombone, Melodica and Scordatura Melodica

    Birmingham Contemporary Music Group

    CBSO Centre, Birmingham

    24 January 2014, 20.00

    Impotentia Coeundi - Solospiel for Soprano

    Land's End Ensemble / Laura Jayne Bowler

    Rozsa Centre, University of Calgary

    10 November 2013, 17.00

    Shrine - Invocation to Ate

    Marija Milosavljevic - flute

    Birkenfeld (Germany), Maler Zang Haus

    2 September 2013, 22.05


    - Broadcast -

    Interview & Stanza for orchestra as part of the new music programme Horizonte

    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Cond.: Richard Baker

    13-17 August 2013, 19.30


    Size Zero Opera

    Arcola Theatre

    8/9 August 2013, 19.00

    Tête à Tête Opera Festival

    Size Zero Opera Company

    THE VIAGRON - Chamber opera based on Petronius' Satyricon; Libretto: Frank Allison

    Riverside Studios, Hammersmith, London

    6 July 2013, 22.30

    BBC Radio 3

    Hear and Now

    STANZA for orchestra

    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Cond.: Richard Baker

    4 July 2013, 19.30

    Tryklos for large ensemble

    RCM Philharmonic Orchestra/Robin O'Neill

    Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall, Royal College of Music

    27 June 2013, 18:00

    Music of Today

    Philharmonia Orchestra

    Royal Festival Hall

    New Work for chamber ensemble

    3 June 2013, 19.00

    'Rising Stars'

    New Work for wind quartet

    Cadogan Hall, London

    19 March 2013

    Neurody for violin and accordion

    Vania Lecuit - violin
    Maurizio Spiridigliozzi - accordion

    Conservatoire de la Ville de Luxembourg

    14 March 2013 - POSTPONED

    Aphorisms and Annotations

    Orquestra Sinfônica de Minas Gerais / Marcio da Silva

    Museu Inimá de Paula em Belo Horizonte, Brazil

    9 March 2013, 19:30

    BBC Hear and Now

    STANZA for Orchestra

    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Cond.: Martyn Brabbins

    Old Fruitmarket, Glasgow

    25 February 2013

    Drei Aphorismen for piano solo

    Valarie Liow - piano

    St Stephen's Church

    8 November 2012

    November Music, Den Bosch

    Prix Annelie de Man 2012

    Final Round

    Mud for Harpsichord (and Ping-Pong Balls)

    Olga Zheltikova - harpsichord

    22 September 2012, 12:15

    BBC3 - Music Feature

    glissiatur for prepared piano

    Arne Gieshoff - piano

    14 July 2012, 20:00

    Etchings Festival

    Oenothea for soprano and ensemble

    East Coast Contemporary Ensemble / L'Arsenale

    30 June 2012, 16:00

    Konzert junger Künstler

    Konzertsaal St. Mauritius, Wiesbaden

    1. Aphorism (from Drei Aphorismen)

    Susanne Hardt - piano

    26 June 2012, 19:00

    St Magnus Festival, Orkney

    STANZA for orchestra

    Royal Scottish National Orchestra; Cond.: Thomas Søndergård

    23 June 2012, 15:00

    Aldeburgh Festival

    Tryklos for large ensemble

    Britten-Pears Young Artist Programme